Process and Plant Safety

Protection of humans and the environment from hazards posed by technical plants

Protection of humans and the environment from the hazards posed by technical plants – this is the main aim of Process and Plant Safety (PPS). Technology always comes with a certain amount of risk. What risks are acceptable? What protection measures are adequate for such hazards?

PPS has been in practice for over 100 years. Technologies have become better with time. Today, risks are avoided in a systematic manner. There exists internationally acceptable procedures for this purpose. Risk analysis are done and in doing so, adequate safety measures are derived. All the possible hazards need to be first identified and evaluated. This starts from identifying the hazardous material and hazardous chemical reactions. Such reactions are examined experimentally in laboratories. Pressure, temperature and flow parameters are monitored in a technical plant, in the event of malfunction.

PPS Protection of humans and the environment from hazards posed by technical plants

Some plants are designed in such a manner that there is no possibility of a hazard, even in the event of malfunction – these are the so called inherently safe plants. Sensors with very high reliability (Process Control Technologies) or safety valves and rupture disk devices (End-of-Pipe technologies) are however still applied in most technical plants. Basically, for a technical plant to be deemed as safe, multiple independent protection measures (Layer of Protection) have to be implemented.

Protection measures are selected proportionately based on the existing risk

In general the following is true: the larger the effects of a possible event in a technical plant, the higher the requirements in regard to protection measures. This principle is what is referred to as proportionality of risk.


Whenever a safety valve of a rupture device is activated, the hazardous material in the respective vessel must be collected and disposed safely. Apparatus such as separators, quenchers, absorbers etc. are installed downstream. Hazardous gases may only be released to the surroundings only when the allowable limits are not exceeded – this must be proven to the authorities.

Safety engineers in the PPS especially process the following tasks:

  • Hazard and risk analysis
  • Calculation of effects of events
  • Evaluation of hazardous materials and hazardous chemical reactions
  • Simulation of processes in pressurized apparatus in computation programs
  • Sizing of protection equipment
  • Design of containment equipment
  • Calculation of propagation of hazardous material in the environment
  • Recommendation of protection measures and evaluation of existing measures

The work of a safety engineer is as diverse as the related safety technologies.

Safety engineering as such comes with a high degree of responsibility when it comes to determining the right protection measures, even though most parameters applied in calculations are approximated with high uncertainties due to their nature. One must learn to counter these uncertainties.

Log In

Create an account

PPS am CSE

Prozess- und Anlagensicherheit

Wie sicher sind unsere technischen Anlagen – wie sicher können sie sein?

Mensch und Umwelt vor den Gefahren durch technische Anlagen schützen – darum geht es in der Prozess- und Anlagensicherheit (PPS – process and plant safety). Technik ganz ohne Risiken gibt es nicht. Doch welche Risiken sind zulässig? Wie schützt man sich vor Gefahren?

PPS gibt es seit über 100 Jahren. Die Techniken sind immer feiner geworden. Heute geht man sehr systematisch vor, um Gefahren abzuwenden. Es gibt international anerkannte Vorgehensweisen. Risikoanalysen werden durchgeführt und daraus Schutzmaßnahmen abgeleitet. Erst sind alle möglichen Gefahren zu bestimmen und zu bewerten. Das beginnt bei den Gefahrstoffen und gefährlichen chemischen Reaktionen. Diese werden meist experimentell in Labors untersucht. Für den Fall, dass es eine Störung im Betrieb gibt, werden Drücke, Temperaturen und Ströme überwacht.

PPS ist der Schutz von Mensch und Umwelt vor Gefahren von technischen Anlagen.

Einige Anlagen sind so sicher gebaut, das selbst bei einer Störung keine Gefahren drohen. Solche Anlagen sind inhärent sicher. Bei den meisten technischen Anlagen müssen jedoch zusätzlich Sensoren mit einer sehr großen Zuverlässigkeit installiert werden (PLT-Schutzmaßnahmen) oder Sicherheitsventile bzw. Berstscheiben (End-of-Pipe-Technologie), um die Anlage abzusichern. Dabei sind grundsätzlich mehrere unabhängige Schutzmaßnahmen zu wählen (Layer-of-Protection-Konzept), damit eine technische Anlage als sicher gilt.

Für die Auswahl von Schutzmaßnahmen ist die Risikoproportionalität zu beachten.

Grundsätzlich gilt: je größer die Auswirkungen eines möglichen Ereignisses in einer technischen Anlage sein können, desto höher sind die Anforderungen an die Schutzmaßnahmen. Dieses Vorgehen heißt Risikoproportionalität.

PPS_Layer-of-protection

Wenn ein Sicherheitsventil oder eine Berstscheibe anspricht, müssen die Gefahrstoffe sicher aufgefangen und anschließend entsorgt werden. Abscheider, Quenche, Tauchungen etc. werden als technische Apparate nachgeschaltet. Gefährliche Gase dürfen nur dann in die Umgebung abgeleitet werden, wenn die zulässigen Grenzwerte nicht überschritten werden. Dies ist nachzuweisen.

Sicherheitstechniker im Bereich PPS sind zuständig für die:

  • Gefahren- und Risikoanalysen,
  • die Berechnung von Auswirkungen bei Ereignissen,
  • sie müssen Gefahrstoffe und gefährliche chemische Reaktionen beurteilen,
  • die Prozesse in druckführenden Apparaten mit Rechenprogrammen simulieren,
  • Schutzeinrichtungen auslegen,
  • Rückhalteeinrichtungen bemessen,
  • die Ausbreitung von Gefahrstoffen in der Umgebung berechnen,
  • Schutzmaßnahmen vorgeben bzw. vorhandene beurteilen.

Die Arbeit eines Sicherheitstechnikers ist so vielfältig wie die Technik selbst.

Es gehört ein hohes Maß an Verantwortung dazu, die richtigen Schutzmaßnahmen zu bestimmen, auch wenn viele Parameter bei Berechnungen nur unsicher abzuschätzen sind. Mit den Unsicherheiten muss man umgehen lernen.

Log In

Create an account