PPS at CSE

What is PPS?

Figuring PPS out

Protections against fire, explosions and toxic hazards Process and plant safety (PPS) is about protecting technical plants from incidents. This course seeks to train engineers on how to identify and rate hazards – it also entails training about defined methods of systematically protecting against these hazards. This training is relevant for a wide range of industrial plants; from a storage tank, to a chemical reactor or even a gas pipeline. Hazards may arise from the actual material, from the chemical reaction or from malfunctions caused my mishandling, wrong dosage, defective heaters, fires etc. Release of hazardous material comes with risk of fire or explosions with heat radiation or shockwaves or even toxicological hazards. What is the worst case scenario, what effects occur in this event? This is approximated within the scope of risk analysis.

PPS seeks to secure technical plants by preventing dangers posed by fires, explosions and toxicological dangers systematically.

Technical plants may only be operated only when they are safe – in any case, what is “safe”? Safety in Germany is defined subject to the state of the art technology. Experts define standards on how technical plants are to be secured based on experimental data and know-how. PPS also comes into play in deciding how the specifications in these standards are actually implemented in a specific technical plant.

PPS is dynamic in nature
The safety specifications of a plants are subject to change as fresh knowledge is brought on board.

The state of the art technology is also continually developed. Further improvement requires new knowledge which comes from research or from actual safety events.

  • CSE institute is actively researching in the area of process and plant safety with a view to continuously make technical plants safer. This ensures that humans and environment are better protected than they are now.

Log In

Create an account

PPS am CSE

Was ist eigentlich PPS?

So sicher wie möglich - ohne dabei zu übertreiben.

Brände, Explosionen, toxische Gefahren vermeiden – Prozess- und Anlagensicherheit (PPS) sichert technische Anlagen und schützt vor Ereignissen. Hier werden Techniken erlernt, um Gefahren zu erkennen, zu bewerten und Methoden festgelegt, um davor zu schützen. Das gilt für ganz verschiedene Anlagen, z.B. einen Lagertank ebenso wie für einen Chemiereaktor oder eine Gasleitung. Gefahren können von den Stoffen selbst, von chemischen Reaktionen oder durch Störungen wie Fehlbedienungen, Fehldosierungen, Fehlbeheizungen, Brände, etc. ausgehen. Wenn Gefahrstoffe freigesetzt werden, dann kann es zu Bränden oder Explosionen mit Wärmestrahlungen und Druckwellen kommen. Weiter sind toxikoligische Gefahren zu beachten. Was kann schlimmstenfalls passieren und welche Auswirkungen sind möglich – dies wird durch Risikoanalysen abgeschätzt.

Mit PPS werden technische Anlagen so abgesichert,
dass Gefahren durch Brände, Explosionen oder toxikologische Gefahren vernünftigerweise auszuschließen sind.

Technische Anlagen dürfen nur betrieben werden, wenn sie sicher sind. Doch was bedeutet eigentlich „sicher“? Dies wird in Deutschland über den Stand der Technik definiert. Experten geben aufgrund von Messungen und Erfahrungen Mindeststandards vor, wie technische Anlagen abzusichern sind. Mit PPS wird im Einzelfall entschieden, wie diese Vorgaben bei einer speziellen Anlage umzusetzen sind.

PPS ist dynamisch:
mit neuen Erkenntnissen ändern sich auch die Anforderungen an die Absicherung von technischen Anlagen.

Der Stand der Technik wir kontinuierlich weiter entwickelt. Die Entwicklung wir geprägt durch neue Erkenntnisse, die aus der Forschung oder auch von Ereignissen kommen.

  • Am CSE-Institut wird im Bereich der Prozess- und Anlagensicherheit geforscht, um die technischen Anlagen stetig sicherer zu machen. Mensch und Umwelt werden dadurch noch besser geschützt als zuvor.

Log In

Create an account